moriyama prize

2017 Moriyama RAIC International Prize

Submission: 08 March 2017
Registration: 08 March 2017
Language: English
Location: Concept
Prizes: Please check details below
Type: Open


The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) reminds architects all over the world to enter the 2017 Moriyama RAIC International Prize competition for a chance to win CAD $100,000. The Prize, awarded every two years, is open to any architect working around the world, irrespective of nationality and location.

Any architect, team of architects, or architect – led collaboration may submit a building or a related group of buildings that has been completed, occupied and in use for at least two years.
The Prize celebrates a single work of architecture that is transformative, inspired, inspiring, and emblematic of the human values of respect and inclusiveness.

An international jury will consider a range of criteria, including:

• The building’s of rmal and experiential qualities.
• The efficiency and effectiveness of the building in use.
• Architectural response to site, climate, and environmental conditions.
• Quality of engagement with the broader context – social, cultural, historic and political.
• Craftsmanship. In 2014, the inaugural winner of the Moriyama RAIC International Prize was Li Xiaodong, of China, for Liyuan Library. Canadian architect Raymond Moriyama’s vision for the Moriyama RAIC International
Prize is based on his conviction that great architecture transforms society by promoting humanistic values of social justice, respect, equality and inclusiveness, and by creating environments for the wellbeing of all people.
In addition to the main CAD $100,000 Prize, three students of Canadian schools of architecture will each receive scholarships of CAD $5,000. The winners will be chosen on the basis of a written essay.
Submissions shall include a completed Application Form and a Project Portfolio (maximum 30 pages, 15 MB), that includes a project description, site plans, architectural documentation, evidence of support for the project from users and a weblink to a short video showing the building in use.
If the submission includes text in any language other than English or French, translations into either English or French must be provided.
Registration fee:
CAD $500 per submission.
The winner of the 2017 Prize will be announced on September 19, 2017.
Categories: Awards
Date: January 31, 2017