2023 Jeff Harnar Awards

Submission: 17 March 2023
Registration: 17 March 2023
Language: English/ Italian
Location: Concept
Prizes: Please see the details below
Type: Open



The JEFF HARNAR AWARDS program was created by Garrett Thornburg in 2007 to honor the memory of Jeff Harnar and help continue his groundbreaking work in the area of contemporary design in the Southwest. In 2018, the award program was expanded to include Unbuilt Work and Landscape Architecture. In 2020, the program was further expanded to include: Contemporary Architecture in the Southwest, Unbuilt Architecture, Unbuilt Landscape Architecture, Student Architecture Award, and Student Landscape Architecture Award.

Three of the five JEFF HARNAR AWARDS are open to submissions for work designed for the Four Corners states (AZ, CO, NM, UT). The student awards for 2023 expand on the Four Corners states to include work in the Chihuahuan Desert ecoregion of West Texas, and the Sonoran and Mojave Desert ecoregions of Southern California and Southern Nevada.

For more details on the application requirements, click on the appropriate link below. If you have additional questions, please contact Anthony Fettes at aefettes@unm.edu.

Recipients of the 2023 Jeff Harnar Awards will be announced by the jury and the University of New Mexico School of Architecture + Planning on Friday, April 14, 2022, at 5:30 PM (winners will be notified one week prior). Best of Show submissions will be selected for a digital exhibition following the awards ceremony. That evening, UNM SA+P will host a lecture, followed by an announcement of the winners.


>>> Go to the competition’s website <<<

Date: March 10, 2023