memorial pre's rock design competition

A Memorial at Pre’s Rock

Submission: May 01, 2020
Registration: April 24, 2020
Language: English
Location: Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Prizes: Please see details below
Type: Open


Pre’s Rock is a hard-to-find basalt outcropping on a hillside in Eugene, Oregon that was the site of Olympian Steve “Pre” Prefontaine’s death on May 30, 1975.

After a send-off party for the visiting Finnish National track team, Pre was winding through the tight turns of Skyline Blvd. when he encountered another car on the road and struck the outcropping flipping his MG convertible. He could not be freed in time to save his life,.

In June 2020, thousands of Olympic hopefuls will return to Pre’s home track, the newly rebuilt Hayward Field in Eugene, to compete in the US Olympic Trials for a chance to qualify for the 2020 Games in Tokyo. A select few will make Team USA but nearly each competitor will make a pilgrimage to Pre’s Rock and honor an athlete who exemplified the go-for-broke ethos of champions.

Design competition participants will imagine a memorial for the site of Pre’s fatal car crash that will bring visibility to the location and recognize the legacy and influence of Steve Prefontaine.


  • Provide a vision for a memorial that evokes the spirit and legacy of Steve Prefontaine.
  • Address the display or archival storage for items left at the memorial.


The Pre’s Rock Memorial Design Competition is open to students, graduate students, and design professionals having graduated in 2015 or later.  Entries from all design disciplines including architecture, landscape architecture, design, and visual art disciplines are welcome.


Submissions may contain any combination of text, drawings, graphics, photographs, or any other medium that fit within the size and format requirement

  • Presentation board. Size: 22×34. Format: pdf. Resoultion: 300 dpi


Competition Brief Issued: January 1, 2020
Registration Deadline :
April 24, 2020
Submission: May 1, 2020
Results Announced: May 30, 2020


Tinker Hatfield, Nike
Jeff Kovel, Skylab Architecture
Jeff Roberts, SERA Architects
Alexi Pappas, Olympian, Filmmaker
Andrew Wheating, Olympian


Gold: $2,000
Silver: $1,000
Bronze: $ 500

Go to the competition’s website