architectsnewspaper award

Call for Entries: A|N Best of Design Awards 2017

Submission: September 29, 2017
Registration: September 29, 2017
Language: English
Location: located within the United States
Prizes: Please see details below
Type: Open


Be seen by 1,000,000 A|N readers and Members of the A/E/C Design Community! Our Fifth Annual Best Of Design Awards is a unique project-based awards program that showcases great buildings and building elements. Entrants are invited to submit completed works in 42 categories that reflect A|N’s editorial coverage, as well as the interests and obsessions of our readers.

The BoD jury will judge entries based on several criteria: strength of the presentation, evidence of innovation, creative use of new technology, sustainability, and, most importantly, good design.

Categories: Building of the Year – Northeast, –Mid-Atlantic, –Southeast, –Midwest, –Southwest, –West; Adaptive Restoration; Adaptive Reuse; Architectural Lighting – Indoor; Architectural Lighting – Outdoor; Architectural Representations – Analog; Architectural Representations – Digital; Building Renovation; Civic – Administrative; Civic – Cultural; Civic – Educational; Commercial – Hospitality; Commercial – Office & Retail; Digital Fabrication; Facade; Green Building – Civic and Commercial; Green Building – Residential; Infrastructure; Interior – Residential; Interior- Retail/Hospitality; Interior – Workplace; Landscape – Private; Landscape – Public; Residential, Multi; Residential, Single; Research; New Materials; Commercial/Office; Small Spaces; Student Projects; Temporary Installation; Urban Design; Unbuilt – Commercial; Unbuilt – Residential; Unbuilt – Public, Landscape; Unbuilt – Public, Infrastructure; Young Architects.

JURY: Morris Adjmi (Principal, Morris Adjmi Architects), Matt Shaw (Senior Editor, The Architect’s Newspaper), Irene Sunwoo (Director of Exhibitions, GSAPP), Eric Bunge (Principal, nArchitects), Nathaniel Stanton (Principal, Craft Engineering Studio), Emily Bauer (Landscape Architect, Bjarke Ingels Group).

Eligibility: Projects must have been completed within one year’s time of the submission deadline.

Deadline: September 29, 2017. Registration fees per submission are $150 for professionals and $45 for students.

Language: English

Location: Landscape projects must have been completed within two year’s time of the submission deadline. The Best Of Design Awards is open to U.S. and international firms (e.g., architects/consultants/engineers/manufacturers), but projects submitted must be located within the United States.

Prizes: Winners and honorable mentions will be published in a special Design Annual created for Best Of Design. It will be mailed out in December 2017 and distributed at industry events and conferences throughout 2018. Winning projects will also be featured on our website, where they will reach national and international audiences, and will be promoted via social media. Winners will also receive a limited edition print from Archigram produced especially for A|N.

About A|N: The Architect’s Newspaper speaks directly to leaders in architecture and design with news, products, developments, trends, and updates. Combining timeliness with authority, The Architect’s Newspaper is the most comprehensive source of information on the latest projects and commissions, unfolding politics and debate, and cultural developments in architecture and design. With our magazine, A|N Interior, our outreach to the design community has grown exponentially. www.archpaper.com.

Go to the organizer’s website

Categories: Awards, Featured
Date: July 28, 2017