International multidisciplinary design competition “Requalification of the Acropole of Byrsa and rehabilitation of the National Museum of Carthage”

Submission: January 5, 2023
Registration: January 5, 2023
Language: English
Location: Global
Prizes: Please see details below
Type: Open


The competition concerns one of the emblematic sites of Carthage, the Acropole of Byrsa. With a total area of 5 hectares, it includes archaeological remains, outdoor spaces (UNESCO square, esplanade, large patio, wooded areas and small gardens) and historic buildings (the former cathedral of St. Louis, the former seminary of the White Fathers and the room of Father Delattre).

The architectural, landscaping and museographic program planned covers an area of 6 195 m² and has the following objectives:

  • to become a symbolic place translating the history of the civilization of one of the greatest metropolises of the ancient Mediterranean and to be functionally integrated into its territory, inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List
  • to be conceived as a new living space open to all and as a space dedicated to culture and leisure offering visitors a unique experience;
  • to enhance the value of the collections through innovative mediation devices that will put the historic buildings and the emblematic archaeological landscaped areas of the site into dialogue;
  • to be adapted to a variety of audiences (individuals, groups, schools) and to universal accessibility conditions;
  • to be part of a sustainable development approach in response to the major challenges of ecological, energy and environmental transition.

Carthage is an extensive archaeological site, set on a hill overlooking the Gulf of Tunis and the surrounding plain. A metropolis of the Punic civilisation in Africa and capital of the province of Africa in Roman times, Carthage played a central part in Antiquity as a great commercial empire.

The archaeological site of Carthage has been on the UNESCO World Heritage List since 1979. The main known components of the site of Carthage are the acropolis of Byrsa, the Punic ports, the Punic tophet, the necropolises, the theatre, the amphitheatre, the circus, the villa quarter, the basilicas, the Antonine baths, the Malaga cisterns and the archaeological reserve.

The competition concerns one of the sites of Carthage, the Acropolis of Byrsa, which includes archaeological excavations, outdoor spaces (square, forum, patio and gardens) and historic buildings dating as far back as 1852 when the Saint-Louis Archaeological Museum was founded on the site.

The project aims to:

  • find the best enhancement and revitalisation concept for this archaeological site, in light of its inclusion on the UNESCO World Heritage List ;
  • find the best architectural, landscape and planning concept for the UNESCO site ;
  • expose the archaeological objects in appropriate spaces defining an innovative museography illustrating the history of one of the largest metropolises in the Mediterranean ;
  • secure functional communication between a national museum, a scientific and research centre, and recreational and cultural facilities
  • find the best solutions for access to the site and manage the various flows around it ;
  • set the project within a sustainable and inclusive development approach in response to the major issues at stake in the ecological, energy and environmental transitions.


This competition is open to architects from all countries having diplomatic relations with Tunisia, constituted within a grouping composed of architects and landscape architects.


  • Alberto Veiga, architect, Veiga Barozzi, Spain (UIA representative and president of the jury)
  • Fathy Kouched, architect, Ministry of Cultural Affairs, Tunisia
    – Lamine Hibet, architect, representative of the order of architects of Tunisia, Tunisia
  • Gabriela Carrillo, , architect, Taller de arquitectura, Mexico
  • Neil Porter, landscape architect, Gustavson porter + Bowman, United Kingdom
  • Meriem Chabani, architect and urban planner, New south, France/Algeria
  • Momoyo Kaijima, architect, Atelier Bow Wow, Japan
    Alternate jurors:
  • Grichka Martinetti, architect, Atelier png, France (appointed by the UIA)
  • Ammar Khammash, architect, Khammash Architects, Jordan
  • Nawel Laroui, landscape architect, Aleaolea, Tunisia / Spain


The total prize money (€200,000) will be distributed among the authors of the five winning projects:

  • 1st prize: € 50,000
  • 2nd prize: € 45,000
  • 3rd prize: € 40,000
  • 4th prize: € 35,000
  • 5th prize: € 30,000

The jury may, at its discretion, award honorary prizes to projects displaying specific merits.


The official language of the competition is French.
The competition documents are in English and French, and all information is identical in both languages.


Launch of the competition: September 6, 2022
Deadline for submission of projects (electronic + paper): January 5, 2023
Jury meeting: February 2023
Announcement of results: March 2023



>>> Go to the competition’s website <<<