KROB 2018

Submission: October 25, 2018
Registration: October 25, 2018
Language: English
Location: Concept
Prizes: Please see details below
Type: International architecture delineation competition


LiThe Ken Roberts Memorial Delineation Competition (KRob) has celebrated the best in architectural delineation for 44 years. A Dallas classic that has received international recognition, KRob honors hand and digital delineation by professionals and students throughout the world. Averaging over 400 entries from 25 countries in the past several years, the competition’s visibility continues to grow.

The Ken Roberts Memorial Delineation Competition is the most senior architectural drawing competition currently in operation anywhere in the world.

All entries must be of an architectural nature, and must be authored by one individual. Entries can be elevations, sections, or perspectives, and can be conceptual or final renderings. Exploration and innovation in unique techniques are encouraged. While there is no limit to the number of entries one can submit, submissions awarded in past Ken Roberts competitions are not eligible. Sketchbooks as a whole will not be accepted; a single, clearly marked page within the sketchbook may be entered.

Professional Eligibility
Each entry must have been executed while entrant is a professional in architecture or in related fields (architectural illustrator, educator, engineer, cg animation). Due to the versatile nature of the architectural profession, it is not required for the entrant to be employed at the time submitting work for KRob. All work completed after graduation from a design program is considered professional.

Student Eligibility
Each entry must have been executed while entrant was enrolled at an academic institution (either high school or pursuing a higher education degree in architecture or design). Student entries can be submitted no later than 12 months following the entrant’s final graduation date.

Categories / Awards

The Award for Excellence in Digital/Hybrid Media

This prize is awarded to the best student and professional entries that demonstrate excellence through an innovative use of media and technology. Submissions may be digital, or hybrid mixed media with preference given to those that push the envelope of architectural representation, including drawings produced through algorithmic processes.  The winners of this category will be awarded a $300 cash prize.

The HKS Award for Excellence in Hand Delineation

This prize is awarded to the best student and professional entries that embodies and celebrates the art of architecture as a tool for communication through hand delineations, sketches and renderings.

The Richard B. Ferrier Award for Best Physical Delineation

In response to the large majority of entries being submitted electronically, this prize has been created to highlight and honor the unique properties inherent to physical drawings. KRob has traditionally been an event that honored physical submissions, and this prize is intended to maintain this practice. To be considered for this prize, the entry must be submitted physically to the AIA Dallas office. Please carefully follow the instructions for physical submissions above. For entrants registered with a U.S. mailing address only.

The Kevin Sloan Award for Best Travel Sketch

This award acknowledges individuals interested in the time honored activity of drawing architecture and places to learn and understand. In lieu of drawings made to “interpret”, drawings submitted for this category are made to observe, analyze and record in a sketchbook.

Emerging Technologies Delineation Category

This prize is in response to the emerging technologies of design and production that have opened new ways to engage with traditional practices of architectural drawings.  Submissions for this category will explore technologies and include but are not limited to; code and algorithmic drawing; animation and gifs; 3d printing.

Jurors Citation
These citations allow the jurors to independently select any student or professional piece that they personally wish to see recognized. Winners will receive a Certificate of Recognition.



AIA Member…………….$35 single entry, $20 per additional entry

Non-AIA Member………$50 single entry, $30 per additional entry


AIAS Member…………..$25 single entry, $15 per additional entry

Non-AIAS Member…….$35 single entry, $25 per additional entry

Go to the competition’s website