Open Call: Sea Design Contest 2023

Submission: February 28, 2023
Registration: February 28, 2023
Language: English
Location: Concept
Prizes: Please see details below
Type: Student competition


Sea Design Contest 2023 is the first international design competition entirely dedicated to the nautical sector and open to students and recent graduates from all over the world. Young designers are invited to submit new or existing concepts in keeping with three broad categories: nautical design, industrial design, and “design for all”, the latter having a focus on making sea and aquatic lifestyle more accessible to people with disability. Winners will be invited as guests of honour at the 2023 and 2024 editions of the Tigullio Design District festival where they’ll have the opportunity to showcase their work in front of a large network of companies and professionals of the nautic sector.

Proposals are accepted from 18+ yo design students and recent graduates who have completed their studies in 2022. Both unpublished projects and projects that have been already published or conceived on other occasions are accepted.

STEP1: Follow the organisers on Instagram: Tigullio Design District, Nautic One, Desall
STEP2: Register on desall.com/Signup
STEP3: Submit your project via the Upload page on desall.com

Deadline: February 28, 2023 (1.59 PM UTC)

Tigullio Design District and Nautic One are looking for projects related to the major themes of the sea. While there are no particular restrictions relating to the category of product or service sought, submissions should be in keeping with the nautical sector and aimed at solving problems related to everyday life at sea. Participants are therefore allowed to submit different types of design concepts, such as boats, products, services, innovative systems, projects linked to the protection of the marine environment or to the world of disability in aquatic contexts etc.

The first edition of the Sea Design Contest (2022) catered to Italian students and saw the participation of numerous universities of industrial and yacht design. The award recipients are listed as follow: Ester Ferlito, Chiara Garofalo & Matteo Barbagelata, Nicola Galli & Simone Quintavalle. The 2023 edition is open to students and recent graduates from all over the world.

>>> Go to the competition’s website <<<

Date: December 22, 2022