Wien Museum NEU | On Karlsplatz in Vienna

Submission: May 18, 2015
Registration May 18, 2015
Language: English, Deutch
Location: Wien, Austria
Prizes1st 15,000 EUR, 2nd 10,000 EUR, 3rd Prize 8,000 EUR
TypeRegistered Architects


Open, two-stage, anonymous project competition including an urban-design ideas part followed by a negotiated procedure; in terms of its contract value, this is a major contract award procedure according to BVergG 2006 in the version presently in force (see “Wettbewerbsstandard Architektur – WSA 2010“ part A articles V 1a, 2a, 2b and 3b).

In stage 1 of the competition, the jury will select, on the basis of preliminary design concepts focused on urban design and the assessment criteria as per competiton brief, 10 to 14 participants to compete in stage 2

In stage 2 of the competition, the jury will select, on the basis of the elaboration of the preliminary design concepts from stage 1, the prizewinners.
Subsequent to the competition procedure, according to § 30 par. 2 Z 6 BVergG 2006 a negotiated procedure will be conducted with the winner of the competition. 

Object of the present procedure are services as per Section A § 3 and C § 3 HOA 2004 that are the, including finished execution planning (par. 1 – 5) as well as the artistic supervision. The promoter reserves the right to define modifications in the competition documents e.g. in case of non-realization, the task being performed by a general contractor or within the framework of a PPP procedure.

Eligible for participation are individuals and consortia from the WTO member countries as well as Serbia and Bosnia and Herzegovina. Eligibility will be checked on the basis of the certificate of professional aptitude which is to accompany the entry and must be valid during the course of the competition and the subsequent negotiated procedure.

Considered eligible are:

Austrian architects, chartered civil engineers for building construction and civil engineering companies pertinently authorized under the Law on Civil Engineering in the version presently in force.
Citizens of a member country to the Agreement on the European Economic Area (EEA) author-ized to exercise the profession of an independent architect within an EEA member country.
Individuals who are citizens of a WTO member country or Serbia or Bosnia and Herzegovina and who, within the country of abode of the competitor, are authorized to independently plan the object of the competition.
Legal entities whose statutory purpose of business includes planning services pertaining to the competition task and whose managing director or author of the competition entry satisfies the eligibility conditions imposed on individuals.

Eligible for participation in stage 2 of the competition only those competitors from stage 1 that have been selected by the jury and notified accordingly.
Competitors selected for participation in stage 2 must, depending on their qualification, choose an open space planner or a landscape architect, respectively, as co-author and mention her/him in the declaration of authorship of stage 2. For those, the above-mentioned requirements apply accordingly.
The competitors in stage 1 agree to participate, in the event of being admitted to stage 2, in said stage 2 of the competition with the same team of design authors that previously competed in stage 1.
Eligible for participation are also consortia of individuals and legal entities.
Every competitor in the present procedure is only admitted once (even within the framework of a consortium). Any multiple participation will result in the rejection of all the competition entries in which the relevant author has been involved. This provision does not apply to expert consultants on whose services the competitors may have called, provided their participation does not distort the competition. 
It is not allowed to enter variations of the same project. 
Together with the declaration of authorship every competitor must submit a personal declaration stating his or her eligibility for participation. A check of the professional aptitude will only be performed subsequent to the jury’s decision and only on the person of the winner so as to make sure that he or shed is eligible for being invited to the negotiated procedure. The competitors must join proof of their eligibility for participation (such as copies of the documents certifying their registration with a Chamber of Architects, certificates evidencing their entry into a list of architects or records of study) to the declaration of authorship to be submitted in stage 2.
Collaborators of the competitors and experts upon the services of which the competitors called may be named and will be given credit by the promoter in the publication of the competition results.
The promoter may at any time request proof of professional qualification.

For the remuneration of the services rendered, prizes and recognitions the promoter has earmarked a total amount (competition total) of at least 138,000 EUR (w/o VAT).
As prizes, the following amounts will be awarded (prize total): 

1st prize: 15,000 EUR
2nd prize: 10,000 EUR
3rd prize: 8,000 EUR

A total of 9,000 EUR has been earmarked for three recognition prizes. The jury is at liberty to decide on the distribution of this recognition total.
Every competitor in stage 2 who submits an examinable entry conforming to the requirements laid down in the competition brief will on top receive a flat-rate remuneration of EUR 8,000 (w/o VAT). In the event of more than 12 competitors participating in stage 2, the competition total will be increased accordingly. 
By unanimous vote, the jury may decide to allocate the prize total differently to the three prizes.
Other costs incurred will not be reimbursed.
Remunerations for services rendered and prize amounts are amounts without VAT. Competitors or prizewinners liable to VAT will receive the corresponding amounts on top.

Registration for participation in the competition is open until the end of the working period of stage 1, May 18, 2015.

Go to the competition


Date: April 9, 2015