wienerberger award

Wienerberger Brick Award 18 – Call for entries

Submission: 20 April 2017
Registration: 20 April 2017
Language: English
Location: International
Prizes: Please check details below
Type: Open


The Wienerberger Brick Award, which was first initiated in 2004, is a biannual architectural award that is presented to outstanding examples of modern and innovative brick architecture. In 2018, Wienerberger will present this internationally established award for the eighth time and calls for entries. Project submissions can be done over an online-tool by architects, architecture critics and journalists alike. In 2016 a record participation of more than 600 projects from 55 countries was achieved.

For its Brick Award 2018, Wienerberger calls for outstanding brick projects from around the world.
– Architects, architecture critics and journalists are invited to enter projects.
– The submission period runs until 20th April 2017.

The award comprises five categories:
 Feeling at home,
 Living together,
 Working together,
 Sharing public spaces,
 Building outside the box.

The last category is aiming for innovative concepts and ways of utilizing brick, like new construction technologies or including custom-made bricks and new ornamentation in the project. Ceramic products have to play a significant role in the submitted project, ranging from clay blocks to facing bricks, clay tiles or clay pavers.

The use of Wienerberger products is no necessary condition of participation. Special attention will be directed to how the project combines functionality, sustainability and energy efficiency. An additional criterion is that the project was completed in 2014 or later to ensure topicality.

After the submission phase has ended on the 20th April 2017, a panel of architecture journalists and critics will narrow down the number of all entries to 50 projects, which are nominated for the Wienerberger Brick Award 2018 and will be published in the accompanying Brick18 book. Subsequently, an international jury of architects will select the 5 winners in the single categories as well as the Grand Prize winners.


The Brick Award is endowed with prize money of 7,000 Euros for one Grand Prize Winner (incl. Category Winner) and 5,000 Euros for each of the four other Category Winners.

The official Brick Award ceremony will take place in Vienna in spring 2018. The Brick18 book, including all 50 nominated projects will be published at the same time.

Go to the organizer’s website

Categories: Awards
Date: February 2, 2017