yisabu doko memorial park competition

Yisabu Dokdo Memorial Park International Competition

Submission: November 10, 2017
Registration: August 31, 2017
Language: English
Location: Samcheok, South Korea
Prizes: Please see details below
Type: Open

The Daegu Architectural Culture Confederation (DACC) has organized an open, international project competition for the Yisabu Dokdo Memorial Project in Samcheok, Kangwon Province, Korea.

The International Union of Architects (UIA) has endorsed the competition, which was launched on 24 July 2017 with the support of the City of Samcheok and the Federation of Institutes of Korean Architects (FIKA), the UIA’s Korean Member Section.  The competition regulations correspond to the standards embodied in the UNESCO Regulations for international competitions in architecture and town-planning, on which UIA endorsement of competitions is based.

Architects in collaboration with professionals in related fields such as landscape, exhibition and interior design, will design a memorial park, celebrating the cultural and historic significance of the site for inhabitants and tourists of all ages.  The park will commemorate the life of General Yisabu a figure from 7th century Korean history.


The competition is open to qualified professional architects worldwide and to multidisciplinary teams (including professionals in fields such as urban planning, or landscape/exhibition/interior design).  There is no restriction on the number of members on the team but an architect must lead the team.  Each team can only submit one project.


The official languages of the competition are English and Korean.  All submissions must be written in English.  In case of controversy, the English version takes precedence over the Korean.


1st Prize – 50 000,000 KRW / 43 516.10 USD + Design Contract (1,278,000,000 KRW*/1,112,271.54 USD, including VAT)

2nd Prize – 30,000,000 KRW (26,098.30 USD)

3rd Prize (2 entries) – 10,000,000 KRW / 8,703.22 USD each

Honorable mentions (2 entries) – 5,000,000 KRW / 4,351.61 USD each


Launch 24 July 2017

Registration deadline 31 August 2017

Submission deadline 10 November 2017

Jury meeting: 26-27 November 2017

Announcement 27 November 2017

International Jury

Laurent Salomon, architect (France)

Ms. Miralles Tagliabue, architect (Spain)

Byoung Keun Kang, architect (Korea)

Min Suk Cho, architect (Korea)

Günther Vogt, landscape architect (Switzerland) will represent the UIA and Scott Findley, architect (USA), deputy UIA representative

Go to the competition’s website