Competition for the »District of the Generations« Schorndorf

Submission: September 27, 2022
Registration: May 13, 2022
Language: English/German
Location: Schorndorf
Prizes: Please see details below
Type: Open


With the »District of the Generations«, the city of Schorndorf, a medium-sized center with about 40,000 inhabitants in the Rems-Murr district, is planning an urban development extension of the »suburb« to the north of the train station. The goal is to develop a dense neighbourhood where multiple generations can come together to live, work, and care for one another. The core of the plan is the 1.5 hectare site of the former construction and municipal depot. Proximity to the city, good quality of life, and a strong sense of community should be created in the new district through common living spaces, as well as through the combination of public areas and diverse options for local infrastructure, education, leisure, and culture. The project managers are intentionally focusing on resource-saving, low-emission energy and material concepts. The area should be designed to have low vehicle traffic, with a focus on public local transportation and spaces for sharing services and deliveries.

The project was submitted by the city of Schorndorf for the Internationale Bauausstellung StadtRegion Stuttgart 2027 (IBA’27 – International building exhibition Stuttgart urban region), and included in the IBA’27 network. Accordingly, the project should be based on the objectives and issues taken up by the IBA’27. What all of these have in common is a desire to handle materials, spaces, and social relationships in a sustainable and respectful manner.

Type of proceedings

The competition will be carried out as a two-phase urban development and landscape planning competition. The proceedings are anonymous.

The competition will be held with up to 20 participating teams in the first phase and approx. 5 teams in the second phase. The prescribed teams will be formed of urban planners, architects, and landscape architects. Each participating office may have a maximum of one team in these proceedings.

Of the total of 20 offices in the urban development specialist area, 7 offices have been selected and identified in advance by the awarding authority. The other 13 offices will be selected through an application process.


Urban planners are entitled to participate, in collaboration with landscape architects and architects. The specialist disciplines to be verified can be in working groups of multiple offices as well as within a single office. Natural persons and legal entities that fulfil the required professional qualifications are entitled to participate. For natural persons, the professional qualifications are considered fulfilled if they are entitled under the statutory regulations of their home country to bear the professional designations of urban planner, architect, or landscape architect on the date of the announcement. If the applicant’s professional designation is not legally egulated in their home country, then the urban planners, architects, and landscape architects will be considered to fulfil the professional requirements if they have a diploma, examination certificate, or other certificate of competence that is recognised under directive 2005/36/EC, Directive on the Recognition of Professional Qualifications, and conforms to the specifications of the Council of 07 September 2005 on the recognition of professional qualifications (ABl. EU no. L 255 p. 22). For legal entities, the professional requirements are fulfilled if their business purpose under the Articles of Association include planning services that conform to the planning task in question, and if the authorised representative of the legal entity and the author of the competition work fulfil the professional requirements stipulated for natural persons. Applicant consortia made up of natural persons and legal entities are also entitled to participate if each member of the applicant consortium is entitled to participate.


The awarding authority shall offer a total net amount of 48,000 € for the competition.

1. Prize: € 20,000
2. Prize: € 12,000
3. Prize: € 8,000

2 purchases of € 4,000 each.

The jury reserves the right to distribute the prize money otherwise. In order to receive the prize money, an assessable work must be submitted in a timely manner. The prize money shall be offset against the later processing fee in case of a commission.


End of the application period: 13 May 2022
Submission 1st phase: 05 July 2022, 4pm. 1st meeting of the prize jury: 25 July 2022
Submission 2nd phase 27 September 2022, 4pm. 2nd meeting of the prize jury: 25 October 2022


>>> Go to the competition’s website <<<